7
Feb
2011

Auf See

Ein Tag auf See x Kulturschock

Auf dem Schiff habe ich mich ganz gut eingewöhnt und auch schon eine Freundin gefunden. Sehr nett. Die Gäste befinden sich irgendwie alle so außerhalb meiner Altersstufe, dass längere Gespräche manchmal etwas länger werden.
Gestern wurde ich galant von meinem Tisch gerettet, an dem ein Pärchen saß, das am liebsten für sich ist: Meine Fresse! Zum Glück waren zwei Plätze an David Benders Tisch frei, die Robert Kennedy Jr und ich besetzten. Das Abendessen war klasse! Alle 10 Minuten lerne ich eine neue Vokabel, David Bender hat einen wunderbaren Humor. Später hat uns Hal noch eine halbe Stunde lang besprochen. Ein toller Abend!

Heute habe ich eine Kopfmassage bekommen und sitze gerade in der Diskussionsrunde mit David Bender und Alan Grayson, der die amerikanische Regierung in seiner Zeit als Congressman erfolgreich verklagt hatte. Ein sympathischer Mensch mit einer interessanten Vergangenheit, in der er oft gegen den Strom schwamm. Und Humor hat er auch. Das mag ich besonders an dieser Kreuzfahrt, dass fast alle Sprecher hier Humor haben. Ich lerne auch sehr viel über amerikanische Politik und die Zustände im Land. OMG! Die sind ja echt am Arsch. Was ich allerdings mag, ist die Geschwindigkeit mit der sich die Dinge in Amerika bewegen können, wenn der Stein erst einmal ins Rollen gekommen ist. Bleibt nur zu hoffen, dass in Zukunft noch mehr Leute sich gegen die Felsmauer stemmen und schieben.

Das Essen ist fantastisch: Ich habe mich bisher fast nur von Lachs, Gemüse und Früchten ernährt. Muss ja meine Bikinifigur aufrecht erhalten. Beim Mittagessen rücken mir die Leute irgendwie zu sehr auf die Pelle und ich glaube es haben sich genug Missverständnisse angesammelt: Ichhabe einen riesigen Kulturschock bekommen, den ich im Laufe des Tages glücklicherweise abbauen konnte. Ich durchschaue zwar noch bei weitem nicht alle Motive der Amerikaner sich so zu verhalten, wie sie es tun, aber naja… bin ja noch in der Lehre. Und irgendwie ist es nicht gut schüchtern zu sein, auf einem Schiff wo einem jeder einfach seine Meinung ins Gesicht drückt. Bescheidenheit ist in Amerika auch eher keine Tugend.

Am Nachmittag gab es einen Vortrag von Robert Kennedy Jr. zum Thema Umweltschutz. Er ist ein Umweltaktivist und unterstützt alternative, erneuerbare Energien. Danach haben wir uns seinen neuen Film "The last Mountaintop" angeschaut, der auf die Verhältnisse der Energiekonzerne zu Staat und Bevölkerung aufmerksam macht und die durch den Kohleabbau erzeugten unglaubliche Schäden an Natur und Mensch aufzeigt. Ein guter Film, kann ich nur empfehlen.

Beim Dinner saß ich mit Cary Harrisons Tisch Er ist Radiomoderator und spricht Deutsch. Ich hatte meine erste erfolgreiche Konversation auf dem Schiff. Fühlt sich gut an, sich mal wieder ausdrücken zu können, ohne die ganze Zeit irgendwelche unpassenden Vokabeln im Kopf zuhaben. Nach dem Dinner hat Hal seinen Comedy Auftritt gehabt. Es war ein Mix aus alt bekanntem plus ein paar Titanic-Witzen. Das Publikum war begeistert. :)

Morgen geht's an Land und an den Strand. Freue mich schon drauf!

Antonia

One day at sea and my culture shock

Onboard I now think I find whatever room I'm looking for. That's nice. I already made friends with some staff, who is as me suffering from too expensive wifi onboard. All guests are outside my age group but I can chat with them a little. Carolyn, Johnny and Jai I already know from the chat so I have no trouble talking to them at all.
Yesterday evening I was rescued from my table to David Benders table. As I sat down on my original table there was one pair already seated and all they said was: "Hi! We love cruise because you can be so comfortably by yourself." Wow. O.K. I understood and used the first opportunity to leave. I sat next to Robert kennedy Jr. and far away from David who I really like. Well, I can't be rescued all the way on one evening… Dinner went great and the food was very tasty. Every 10 Minutes I learned some new vocabulary and I love Davids' humor. Later Hal joined us and talked a lot which I always like. Great evening!

Today I got a head massage, which was very relaxing but for the tons of oil the spa-guy put in my hair. I had to wash it three times until all the oil was gone. Right now I'm sitting with an audience listening to David Bender interviewing Alan Grayson. He is an retired congress man who talks about all conditions which American politics have today and had when he was in office. He's got good humor and is very sympathetic. And OMG from time to time I can't believe that people can actually live under such political conditions in America. O_O OMG! I had to leave the room when He explained my he did negative advertising while campaign. That's not allowed in Germany and it was just making me sick listening. But I like Alan a lot. :)

The food is fantastic. I'm living on salmon, fruits and veggies: Must keep up my bikini shape. While having lunch somehow everybody is concerned about me and I don't get why but they won't let me eat: they're just constantly asking if everything is alright with me. That plus some other misunderstandings made my huge culture shock which I gladly worked off in the afternoon. I also found out, not everything people are putting me through and I collide with has only cultural reasons. O.K. I can work with that I think. I'm still learning. But I found out that being shy doesn't help at all and modesty isn't a virtue here. So I'll try more to just say what's on my mind.

In the afternoon Robert Kennedy Jr. held a speech about environment and renewable energy sources. After a Q&A we watched his new film "The last mountaintop" which explains the relation between cole industry and state and the public. it also shows the human and natural damage caused by mining cole. It's a really good film: Watch it if you get the chance to do so!

At Dinner I sat on Cary Harrisons table who is a radio show host and speaks German. That felt like my first successful conversation on this ship. It's nice not always having to sort out not matching vocabulary which of I never know where the heck it comes from. >_< After Dinner Hal had his stand up. It was a mix of old material and some Titanic jokes which we all loved. :)

Tomorrow we go off board with a beach beneath and I hope it'll be a blast just like the rest of this trip already was.

Antonia

050220113697_ship
Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and Antonia at dinner.

060220113706_ship
Hal Sparks stood up.
umlauts - 16. Feb, 20:18

One day at sea and my culture shock

Onboard, I now think I can find whatever room I'm looking for. That's nice. I already made friends with some staffer, who is like me, suffering from too expensive wifi onboard. All guests are outside my age group but I can chat with them a little. Carolyn, Johnny and Jai, I already know from the chat so I have no trouble talking to them at all.
Yesterday evening, I was rescued from my table to David Benders table. As I sat down on my original table, there was one pair already seated and all they said was: "Hi! We love the cruise because you can be so comfortable by yourself." Wow. O.K. I understood and used the first opportunity to leave. I sat next to Robert Kennedy Jr. and far away from David who I really like. Well, I can't be rescued all the way on one evening… Dinner went great and the food was very tasty. Every 10 Minutes, I learned some new vocabulary and I love Davids' humor. Later, Hal joined us and talked a lot, which I always like. Great evening!

Today I got a head massage, which was very relaxing except for the tons of oil the spa-guy put in my hair. I had to wash it three times until all the oil was gone. Right now I'm sitting with an audience listening to David Bender interviewing Alan Grayson. He is an retired congressman who talks about all conditions which American politics have today compared to when he was in office. He's got a good sense of humor and is very sympathetic. And OMG, from time to time, I can't believe that people can actually live under such political conditions in America. O_O OMG! I had to leave the room when He explained my he did negative advertising while campaigning. That's not allowed in Germany and it was just making me sick listening. But I like Alan a lot. :)

The food is fantastic. I'm living on salmon, fruits and veggies: Must keep up my bikini shape. While having lunch, somehow everybody is concerned about me and I don't get why but they won't let me eat: they're just constantly asking if everything is alright with me. That, plus some other misunderstandings gave me a huge culture shock, which I gladly worked off in the afternoon. I also found out that not everything people are putting me through or what I'm met with is due to cultural reasons. O.K. I can work with that I think. I'm still learning. But I found out that being shy doesn't help at all and modesty isn't a virtue here. So I'll try more to just say what's on my mind.

In the afternoon Robert Kennedy Jr. held a speech about environment and renewable energy sources. After a Q&A we watched his new film "The last mountaintop" which explains the relation between Coal industry and the state and the public. it also shows the human and natural damage caused by mining coal. It's a really good film: Watch it if you get the chance to do so!

At Dinner I sat at Cary Harrison's table who is a radio show host and speaks German. It feels good to express views again without all the time worrying about the wrong words. >_< After Dinner Hal had his stand up. It was a mix of old material and some Titanic jokes which we all loved. :)

Tomorrow we go off ship to a beach bleow and I hope it'll be a blast just like the rest of this trip already was.

Antonia

logo

AntoniaOnBoard

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Aktuelle Beiträge

Neuer Versuch
Nach unserem Tel. ist das mein nächster Versuch ob...
Papii - 15. Mär, 10:05
Thats my full quick and...
Thats my full quick and dirty proofread. Glad you enjoyed...
umlauts - 16. Feb, 20:40
Someone already tried...
Someone already tried using your credit card? Your...
umlauts - 16. Feb, 20:35
At the Airport And off...
At the Airport And off I go: I arrived 4 hours prior...
umlauts - 16. Feb, 20:34
Just arrived at the airport...
Just arrived at the airport and am waiting for my bus...
umlauts - 16. Feb, 20:32

Meine Kommentare

Alle Links in Popups öffnen

alle Links auf der aktuellen Seite in einem neuen Fenster öffnen 

Suche

 

Allgemeines, status
Progressive Cruise
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren